Self motivation

One of the hardest things about freelancing is motivation. Getting up in the morning and getting what needs to be done, done.

This week has been harder than most so far for me – suffering from a shoulder/neck injury has left me feeling grumpy and sore, and even getting out of bed in the morning has been a pain, quite literally. But today I watched a video which boosted me:
Motivate Yourself

Ok, so it doesn’t strictly relate to copywriting, but even this guy’s voice helps to give me a bit of a boost. That, together with this post http://thinktraffic.net/motivation really got me thinking this morning. I could sit here and think about how sore I am, procrastinate about work which needs to be done and take another sick day (tempting), or I could get the hell on with it and finish my work! I know which one will leave me feeling better.

It’s definitely the hardest part of being a freelance writer – motivation and inspiration. I think it’s really important not to be too hard on yourself; I set a timetable for work which I try to stick to and take plenty of breaks from the computer screen. Sometimes even a ten minute walk in the sun is enough to give me a boost.

I hope these ideas have helped others to feel a bit more motivated today – now I’m going to get some work done!

Leave a Reply

